Apr 13, 2024

Five-member probe commission formed

Five-member probe commission formed

KATHMANDU, Jan 15:The government has formed a 5-member investigation commission to investigate the plane crash of Yeti Airlines in Pokhara on Sunday.

Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Bishnu Poudel informed that a 5-member accident investigation commission was formed under the coordination of former secretary Nagendra Ghimire at the emergency meeting of the Council of Ministers held on Sunday.

The commission has been given time to submit the report within 45 days. In addition to identifying the cause of the crash, the inquiry commission should submit a report with recommendations to be followed to avoid accidents in the future.

The members of the commission are aviation expert Nepali Army retired Captain Deepak Prakash Bastola, retired Captain Sunil Pradhan, aircrafts maintenance engineer Ekraj Jung Thapa.

Buddhisagar Lamichhane, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation is the member secretary.